Log in

  • Home
  • Providing Safer Geriatric Care: 2019 AGS Updates to the Beers Criteria. Program 185

Providing Safer Geriatric Care: 2019 AGS Updates to the Beers Criteria. Program 185

  • 10/13/2020
  • 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Virtual

The North Suburban Pharmacists of Chicagoland Presents

Providing Safer Geriatric Care: 2019 AGS Updates to the Beers Criteria. Program 185

LAST CHANCE: This program is intended for NSP members, IPhA members, and those who want to join and support our associations in their important pharmacy related functions.

All College of Pharmacy students are welcome to attend. Please use your personal email to register (not your university email).

The RSVP list as of 10/09/2020 is at the end of this notice.

Tuesday, October 13, 2020.
Time: 7pm to 8:30pm
Location: Virtual Program

Register in advance for this meeting:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Schedule of Events:
7:00 p.m.-8:30 p.m.: Featured CE Program Presentation.

Reservations are required for attendance.

Providing Safer Geriatric Care: 2019 AGS Updates to the Beers Criteria. Program 185

Program Description

The North Suburban Pharmacists of Chicagoland is providing our virtual continuing pharmacy education program experience. NSP is committed to providing thoughtful and engaging programs. Your support of ALL pharmacy organizations (ex. IPhA, NSP, APhA, etc.) is more important now than ever. How we are practicing our profession during this difficult time has been challenging and ever evolving. We will be working to provide virtual programs until it is deemed safe to provide live programs again. I am hopeful that you will participate and grow your knowledge with us.

Polypharmacy, often defined as the use of five or more medications, is prevalent in adults ages 65 years and older. 40% are taking 5 to 9 medications and 18% are taking 10 or more medications. Polypharmacy can result in inappropriate prescribing of medications, causing adverse drug events (ADEs). ADEs in older adults can lead to increased emergency department visits and hospitalizations.

The Beers Criteria were first developed in 1991 by Mark H. Beers, MD, to decrease inappropriate prescribing and ADEs and to identify medications or medication classes that should be avoided in older adults in nursing homes. In 2011, after Beers’ death, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) began to oversee the revisions and update to the criteria. AGS has provided updates to the criteria every 3 years, starting in 2012. (from Pharmacy Today 11/2019)

Pharmacist Program Objectives

At the conclusion of the program, the pharmacist and pharmacy technician will be able to:


  • 1.    Recognize factors in the geriatric patient population that increases the risk for ADEs
  • 2.    Evaluate the changes implemented by AGS in the 2019 Beers Criteria
  • 3.    Formulate (pharmacists)/Discuss (technicians) an appropriate treatment regimen for a geriatric patient using the Beers Criteria



This activity has been designed to meet the educational needs of pharmacists and pharmacy technicians.


Jaini Patel, BS, PharmD, BCACP
Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice

Clinical Pharmacist, AMG-Sykes Anticoagulation Clinic
Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy

Disclosure: Our speaker declares no conflicts of interest, real or apparent, and no financial interests in any company, product, or service mentioned in this program.

In compliance with regulatory and continuing education guidelines/codes of ethics, guests who are not healthcare professionals are not permitted to attend.

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT INFORMATION: The Illinois Pharmacists Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as a provider of continuing pharmaceutical education.

Funding for this program is provided by: North Suburban Pharmacists of Chicagoland 

In order to receive ACPE credit for this program, the participant must 1) Attend the program in its entirety; 2) Provide current information on the Attendance Log Form; and 3) Complete an Evaluation Form. The program’s administrator should provide attendees a Record of Attendance Form for their files. All Statements of Credit for ACPE approved – IPhA co-sponsored continuing education that individuals have completed during the year are available online at  If you do not have web access and would like a CE transcript mailed to you, please contact IPhA at (217) 522-7300 or

There are no fees for this program.

Register in advance for this meeting:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

RSVP as of 10/09/2020


Aaminah Siddiqui
aby tomy
Adela Armoush
Adrian Kalata
Aisha Chudhry
Alek Kubilius
Alexis Jakuszewski
Alpa Patel
anastasia berezova
Andrew J Romero
Ann Gaines
Anna Michalec
Anthony Marchese
Anuradha Jayakody
Arnold H. Shifrin
athanasia pratikakis
Avery Spunt
Barb Bridges
Barbara Fabino
Barbara J. Galler
Bernard Marx
camisha ruffins
Cara Brock
Courtney L Reed
Craig Schaefer
Dagmara Zajac
Daniel Bassler
Danny Pomorantz
Delphine Knop
dennis bryan
Deya Abdeljaber
Dhaval Patel
elizabeth holmberg
Ewa S Bielak
Faaieza N Khan
Faris Ihmoud
Gary Frisch
ghadeer abdelrahman
Harriet west
Harshad     Parkara
Henry A Gould
Henry Le
Howard Dvorin
Howard Gerber
Isa Patel
Ivia Rosado Sanchez
James  T. O'Donnell
Jan Costis
Janet Ritter
janie greenberg
Jazmin Bueno Tapia
Jeannette Ash
Joan M. Hardman
Joana Staszel
Joanna Staszel
Joanna Staszel
John Standa
kathleen Krieger
kiera james
Kimberly Clayborn
Kristen Niedbalski
Kristin Kennedy
Laura Licari
Lauren Purvis
Linh Truong
Lori Uildriks
Luis Guerrero
Mahdad Khazei
Malek Hassan
Marc Gaines
Marc Yanow
Mariana Ivanylo
Marla Goldberg
Marsha L Newman
Martha Braun
martina khalil
Mary Yerkes
Michael Bogdan
Michael J Glen
Muafuq J Omari
Mustafa Turshan
Neeta Patel
noura keshta
Palak Gandhi
pamela caplan
Paresh Patel
pooja shah
Randall Lambert
Rayan Kamal Salih
Raymond Kiefer
Richard Puccetti
rimi alshorji
Robert Heyman
Robert L.Barkin
Robert Wishner
robin fine
Rosanna Gambino
Rosanna Orozco
samar shaheen
Sanah Ibrahim
Scott Drabant
Shameem AjaniI
Sheila Allen
Shorok Judeh
Sonja Paulson
Soojin Jun
Stevan Tomich II
Talia Mazidi
Tejas Shah
Tina M Durrant
Tony Bono
Tony Thin
vishal patel
Werner Gideon
Wigberto Gonzalez-Chevere
Yash Patel
Zena Jabri

©2020 North Suburban Pharmacists of Chicagoland Association. All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software